Moving On/Out

On Saturday night, my roommate, Rachael, moved out. Gonzo. No more roommate for four days, then won’t live with her again… ever, maybe. Nothing’s set in stone, of course, but it’s really weird for me. We’re really good friends and we’ve gotten really close. Maybe I’ll update this with a picture of us in a day or two.

So Friday, I had a big goodbye to my city. DC has really become my home, the only place I’ve really lived besides my hometown, Grafton. Rachael and I ventured downtown to do all the touristy things I haven’t done for a long time. We hit up the National Gallery of Art and saw some really old, amazing work. We saw one piece she wrote extensively on for an art history class, and a piece I remember looking at as a kid in the museum. Here they are.

Ginevra de'Benci

Rachael told me that this is the only da Vinci in the Western Hemisphere. I want to see more in the East in the fall.

Two Women at a Window

I’m a bit simple-minded when it comes to art. This is what I like.

So I’m moving on out too, soon enough. Back to my house, then to camp for the summer (more on that later) and then to Copenhagen. I’m half done with my undergraduate work, and who knows if I’ll ever do graduate work. I definitely get the distinct feeling that I’m closing a chapter in my life, and opening a new one.

Another thing that needs to happen is that I need to get this WordPress thing a little better. My coding/designing skills are lacking, and, faithful reader (shoutout to all one of you), I promise to work on that in the upcoming months.

This doesn’t quite work with the theme, but I this is the song playing in my mind as I’ve been writing this:

One thought on “Moving On/Out

  1. Part I: It definitely is the only Leonardo painting on “our” hemisphere (or, our old hemispheres now that we’ve upgraded to Europe)… And yes, the fact that we’re juniors now is SO scary. I still feel like a confused freshman all the time, and I’m not ready to be an adult yet (despite the fact that most of my habits are more similar to those of old ladies than 20-year-olds).

    I’m enjoying catching up on your blog. Yay, my name appearing! Haha, I’m awful. I don’t know why you liked living with me.

    Backstreet’s back, alright? Teach your Danish gospel choir how to sing that!

Leave a Reply

