Heyho and Welladay

Welp, I’m here in Copenhagen. Or should I say København (as the Danes do)? Or should I say Fredensborg (where I actually am right now)?

Welp, I’m here in Denmark.

I don’t actually know exactly where to start, so this will be a long-ish and possibly very jumbly post. I’ll start at the beginning, a very good place to start. At 9:30 on Saturday night, I boarded a plane out of Boston/Logan to Reykjavik/Keflavik. I packed light-ish– one mid-sized suitcase, a big backpack (not full), and a small backpack.

me being a goof with my luggage

My mom really did not like me posing like this. (Hi Mom!)

The trip was only about 5 hours, not too bad at all. Movies were free, so I watched a bit of Les Mis and then slept. We arrived in Iceland at about 6:30 local time (aka 2:30 my time…) The pillow on the IcelandAir flight had a really cute poem which rhymed in English AND in Icelandic so props to that translator. It had the phrase heyho and welladay which as far as I can see is nonsense, but I like it. Hence the title for this post. Here’s the full poem.

a poem on a pillow

A little about Iceland (because it is the first stamp in my passport and I took notes in the airport): It is EXACTLY like you would imagine it. A little bleak outside, gray skies, flat land with no trees and only a few houses in towns (you can see that from the sky) dark mountains loom in the not so distant distance. Inside the airport is gorgeous and newly renovated, and QUIET. They don’t announce flights boarding, so it’s up to you– making it super quiet. The people-watching was great, and Americans were easy as ever to spot. Icelanders and other cool people sported gold lamé sneakers or neon dreadlocks. Security staff rode orange razor scooters.

Oh- and there was this cool quote on the wall:

“I trace the interest in genaelogy in Iceland to the lack of trees. Because of the sparcity of trees, people opt for family trees and find themselves in forest among their forebears…” -Einar Már Guðmundsson

Woah, Einar. That’s deep.

Anywhoozle, 3 hours to Copenhagen and the rest of Les Mis, fast forwarding through the boring parts, of course. Getting there was a breeze and a blur. There was no customs, no immigration, no passport stamp (all but that last one are good). I was ushered through to the fancy pants Hilton to wait for my host family, who came right on time (thanks Danes– apparently always on time!). And there they were! Jytte is the mom (pronounced YOO-tah), Ole is the dad (Oool) and the daughters are Maria (one guess on that one) and Linea (Lin-AY-ah). They drove me to their house in Fredensborg (still working on the pronunciation for that one, even though it looks normal). The house is BEAUTIFUL.

Highlights:

-a glass greenhouse for “outdoor” dining in warm weather- right off the kitchen

-they said they had modern appliances in their website– not a joke. I had to ask how to use everything except the toilet. Sinks, showers, fridge, yup.

-a laundry chute from the 2nd floor to the basement.

-my room is adorable

-everything is clean and white (classic Danes, again)

Then, today, I finally got into the city. It was an hour-plus commute that made me realize an 8:30 class here at DIS is a lot earlier than a 8:55 at AU. Two trains means I get a free coveted all-zones pass for the train, which they said should be carried like cash (protected, don’t lose it) because guess what? It’s worth $400 (for 2 months)! Whut.

Copenhagen is a short city, like DC. No skyscrapers. But the buildings are a mix of old and new. A beautiful mix, for the most part. The old buildings tend to look a little run down, but that’s a first impression of the outsides only. I got too walk around a little, buy a pastry. (still looking for the name of it) I went into a bookstore and cashed my scholarship check at the bank (carrying WAY more cash than I normally would) and got on the train, all without asking for directions once.

Oh, and this picture, a good representation of Denmark where there are as many bikes as people and twice as many pigs as people.

photo of bike and pig

The pig is sideways, divided into cuts.

Heyho and welladay, my first day in my new city and new country.

4 thoughts on “Heyho and Welladay

  1. Enjoyed reading your first impressions of Iceland, Denmark & your host family. I’m looking forward to your future posts.

  2. First off, nice Sound of Music reference. Here, they call that play “Smiles and Tears,” maybe because “the sound of music” doesn’t really mean anything.

    Nice job packing light! Some of the girls here went WAY overboard; two suitcases bigger than yours and a backpack to boot. I think one girl even brought three suitcases. So ridiculous.

    Those are excellent new words! I think we need to use them all the time.

    You get a free train pass from your school? That’s pretty great.

    The bike is adorable and romantic. I’m glad you’re settled in with your family and that things are going well, even if the commute is longer than you’d like. Life is good, heyho and welladay!

Leave a Reply

