Exercise or a Nap was in Order

Good lord it has been a long week. And lord, if you exist and are reading this, keep ’em coming. It was really fun. (laughing at myself for writing that. As if God would read my blog?)

So, with that start, I think it would make the most sense to sum it up day by day because even though I posted Wednesday, it didn’t really encompass the epic-ness that was this week.

Monday: Normal day of classes. I had Women, Art, and Identity; Designing Communications Campaigns, and Strategic Comm. On the train on the way home, I ran into this guy who I had talked to on the train late late on Friday night, so I chatted with him for a bit. It was mostly awkward…

Tuesday: I got up and got on the 8:39 train as usual to get to my 10:05 Danish class. A very important class. I switched trains in Hillerød, when I change from the Lokalbanen to the S-tog. (Sounds so official, right?) Basically, when I change from the local train to the commuter rail, in America-speak. There are 12 stops between Hillerød and Nørreport, when I get off, not including those two stops. It’s kind of long. But between the 2nd stop and the third stop (Allerød and Birkerød) the train stopped. There were some announcements, but all in Danish. The only announcement they ever make in English is “The train will begin as soon as possible.” We waited in the train for about 25 minutes, and I texted my friend telling her I would probably be late for class. They finally let us off the train, but rumor had spread that a tree had fallen on a nearby electrical line, and we would need to be bussed to the next station, Holte, from which we would resume as usual to Copenhagen, and actually the train continues southwest past my stop 18 stops. So it was kind of important. I met up with about 10 DIS people waiting for the bus, all of us complaining loudly in English (the American way) about missing class, and we ended up waiting for the bus (with hundreds of other people, as the trains emptied at that stop) for over an hour. When we finally got to Holte, it was clear we were ALL going to miss class. I did have a nice long chat with a very nice Danish grad student getting ready to study abroad in Manchester, England, and a nice short chat with two Mormon missionaries who were very excited to meet other Americans in the land of gnomes and trolls (actually, that’s Norway. I hope some of you get that joke). I missed class, running up the stairs to find another class going on in the same room. Oof.

Image

I ride the purple line (just line home <3) coming from farther north than the northern-most train stop to Norreport (one of the stops that has a full rainbow)

But then I had lunch with my friend Emily at the Botanical Garden, and it was so pretty and nice and we are both going on this trip called the Czech Trek and we talked about post trip-travel. YAY Central Europe, maybe.

Image

These were at the botanical garden and so pretty. Called Amaranthus Caudatus (Mom? Any layman name for that?) [edit: as Kate pointed out, one of the names for this is “love lies bleeding” a super dramatic layman name, but I like it a lot]

Image

Beautiful sky and botanical garden greenhouses

Wednesday: We normally have field trips on Wednesdays, but I didn’t. So I tried to hang out with people, but it didn’t work. I hung out at my house in the morning, and had a quiet lunch with Jytte. But then I got a little cabin-fever and decided to seek out a larger cabin. Namely, a castle in Hillerød called Frederiksborg Slot. AND OMG BEST CHOICE EVER. First castle of my life, and it was beautiful. Downton Abbey, Harry Potter, The Buccaneers, and other castle-centric movies and shows prepared me a little, but it was totally different to walk around by myself, often alone in small, dark rooms filled with old art and furniture. But it was amazing, so I’ll put some pics here. Wow.

Image

Exterior of the castle. Woah, right?

Image

I hope some of you enjoy this: Possibly the strangest statue I have ever seen. Boobs.

Image

Stained glass in the palace church

Image

French tourists in the Great Hall. That’s actually the name.

Image

When this is your ceiling, who needs floors?

Image

Exemplary hallway.

Image

Other side of the castle, as seen from the garden. Yup. I went there. Soo pretty.

Thursday: My first class met at the Statens Museum of Kunst (that means art) with my art class. A beautiful, huge, free museum. I realize this post is getting mighty long and I’m not close to done. There was a ton of variety of the permanent collection, so I feel like I could go back at least two more times and still see new stuff, from early art to contemporary.

Image

The part where the old wing meets the new.

Image

Contemporary kunst.

Image

Even the cat glares at you. Love this.

Classes, classes. Then I met some people at this coffee shop/bar/hangout called Studenterhuset (student house) to talk about going to ITALY and SPAIN over our first travel break. It was very exciting, and I re-met someone I already knew who was down for Rome and Barcelona so we made plans to meet the next day to buy plane tickets. So real.

Friday: I made it to Danish! Hooray! But first, it was my host sister’s 17th birthday, so in Danish tradition, we all had to wake up before her, and barge into her room and start singing (first the English birthday song then a Danish version) then went downstairs where there was bread and chocolate and pastries and coffee and juice and presents! She got money for the computer she wants and some tights. Very practical.

Then I had Danish, then I met with Bonnie to buy tickets. We got some crazy cheap flights and it was great. I was very stressed out and we went to buy candy to de-stress, but she ended up with a donut, and I ended up with a chocolate iPhone (yes, that’s a thing) for Linea’s birthday. Then I had Strategic Comm, and we talked about what we’re doing on our short study tour (Monday-Wednesday next week). We’re spending 2 nights in Odense, the birthplace of Hans Christian Anderson, and a day in Århus. Still very curious about how that will work out. Then I bought a pleather jacket at the Red Cross thrift store dangerously close to the school. It was pretty cheap and made me feel Danish. I went home and made brownies for Linea’s birthday, and Ole made frikadeller, which are meatballs. Both were a success, and I ate a tiny bit of meatball. Which reminded me that I’m not vegetarian because I don’t like meat, but I’m going to continue to be vegetarian.

Image

Mm, brownies.

Saturday: Me and my friend Gabrielle from AU went into Copenhagen to explore and because of the unpredictable weather, we ended up back at the Botanical Gardens and SMK (that means art) then went walking down Strøget, the Europe’s longest pedestrian shopping street. We found a flea market in an alley (less sketchy than you would imagine), pizza, Lego Corporate offices, a store that sells American candy (and pancake mix, canned pumpkin, and peanut butter) and gelato. A great day… but not over yet.

Image

In the window at Lego, a lego mural of the Nyhavn area. Yes, that’s legos. And the reflection of a car…

IMG_2464

Strawberry chocolate sorbet and mint chocolate gelato. Noms.

When I got home, Jytte had made a ton of cake for a party tomorrow, and we ate some–banana, and a kind from her small town where she grew up. Kind of chocolate/coffee/plain cake. I don’t know how to describe it. What with all the dessert, I felt like exercise or a nap was in order. I hopped on my bike and ended up going on a 7 mile ride, and I rode past the beautiful lake near my house, a field of horses, a golf course, and I stopped to pick wild cherries. How Danish am I? (You are correct if you answered “maybe trying too hard”) Then I came home, had dinner, and now this post.

Image

Cherries swaddled in my new jacket in my bike basket.

Image

By the cherry tree, horses graze idyllically in the sun.

And what a week it was. Also, bless those who got through this long, vaguely religious themed post. May it not have been in vain.

3 thoughts on “Exercise or a Nap was in Order

  1. Wow! wow! wow! Love this post. As you have probably googled for yourself (but I’ll be pedantic anyway) Amaranthas caudatus is “Love lies bleeding”, one of the most dramatic names ever for a plant. I think Il Gamin Quipiche fountains rival “boobs” in the art department.

  2. it’s amaranth! there are edible varieties that grow as weeds in the states (and it is used in Mexican food) that is super healthy, but it looks like that is a decorative variety.

Leave a Reply

