Less Ironically Good, More Actually Good

What can I say about this week? I feel like the week kicked my butt, but I also kicked its butt. Butts were kicked all around.

My goal is to have a shorter post than weeks past. Let’s do just the highlights reel, shall we? With lots o’ pics and vids? AAANNNDDD GO!

Monday: Started with a splash booking hostels for Rome and Barcelona with Bonnie! We read reviews, looked at prices, and tried to figure out logistics for our trip. E.g. (one of my favorite abbreviations right there) How will we call the hostel and tell them we’re going to check in later than expected if neither of us have working phones? Is a question we asked ourselves. But it’s all booked. So now we just need to pack, plan museums and stuff, and GO! Also, this other girl from Smith (Bonnie’s from Smith too) is meeting us in Barcelona! Yay friends.

Tuesday: I discovered a quiet part of the large square near DIS. The square is called Gammeltorv, which translates to Old Square. Nytorv also exists (New Square!) I journaled, read, listened to music, and had lunch. It was really nice because the area around school is SO touristy with a lot of stores, so it was nice to find something quieter and outside.

In my Danish class, we ALWAYS watch Danish music videos. We watched this VERY popular *in 2007* song called “Lægger”, (which means “Delicious”) by a “famous” Danish rap group, Nik and Jay. We translated the chorus. Here goes:

“Excuse me baby, I’ve seen you before, somewhere in Copenhagen? And excuse me baby, allow me to ask, who are you? And what is your name? Because you’re delicious” (repeat word approx 100x)

After class, Chelsea and I went to Magasin, that amazing store that I went into for a little bit last week. On  our way, we saw the most mind-blowing street performers. HOW?

Image

Once in Magasin, the setup of the store is like this, by floor:

0 (Basement): Snack stands, magazines, and a little grocery store. There’s also the entrance to the Metro. Endlessly handy.

1 (Street Level): Cosmetics, gifts, jewelry, accessories, shoes, lingerie.

2: Men’s clothing and accessories. I’m looking for a really nice beautiful sweater, and that’s where I think I’ll find it. It is a bit awk, for me as a single woman to shop there by myself, but if I pretend it’s for my imaginary boyfriend… still awk.

3: Ladies clothing. We noticed that close to the escalator is like “Misses” whereas farther away is “Women” if that makes sense. It gets a little older.

4: Housewares! Also interior design type stuff. We found this wall of KitchenAids that I HAD to take a picture of. Chelsea and I share a deep love for KitchenAids. Also for shopping, though neither of us bought anything. We were happy to find shopping buddies.

Image

5: Toys and kids clothes and juniors clothes and Topshop. And a couple other young people stores. It was a weird combo, but we were loving it. Although I pretty much just gushed over sweaters and Chelsea shopped as a normal person does.

6: Another cafe, but it’s really nice and more like a cafeteria. Think like the IKEA food court, but better.

When we got out of the store we were really hungry and found these reasonably priced “pancake sticks” which were like long waffles, and mine was tipped in dark chocolate and rolled in hazelnuts. Chelsea ordered hers IN DANISH and did not get nuts. Look how beautiful and tasty.

Image

And I finally took a picture of this graffiti in the subway. I see it every day and I’m not a huge fan of it. But I translated it, and it means “Good Morning Angie! Remember to smile today.” So that’s nice. Classic Danes, using their graffiti for the good of Angie.

Image

Wednesday: I had a field study with my Food Systems class to this place called Christian Hansen. It’s a company that manufactures pro-biotics and is very hard to explain. Activia yogurt uses their products and is their most popular consumer product. But most of their products make corn easier to feed corn pigs and cows. Which is awful. Because they shouldn’t eat corn anyway. So, mixed feelings on that.

I wasn’t really sure how to get home from the place, but it was geographically close to my house, so I tried the bus. It ended up taking over an hour, but it was cool to see more of my area, as I always take the same train. I even got to go to Helsingør, which is where Hamlet’s castle is, and the coast.

Thursday: I started my work study job at the housing office. As I write this on Saturday morning, I have worked 5.25 hours. Which means $$! Hooray!

Bonnie came over for dinner, and we went on a short walk through Fredensborg Slotspark so she could see the castle. I’ve been there a few times before, but because I was alone, I wasn’t able to take a picture before. (Because I’m not going to take selfie in front of the queen, really). It was a nice, clear night. And c’mon. Lookit that castle. That’s pretty plain for Danish standards.

Image

Friday: A really great song in Danish, “Klar til Kærlighed”, which means “Ready for Love.” The artist is half Danish and half South-African, and the video was shot in NYC, in Danish. Soo, it’s actually really good. The video is a bit like “Same Love” by Macklemore, which means I love it. If you watched Lægger up at the top of this, change your mindset, because this is less ironically good, and more actually good.

Then because it had been the longest week, I went home after my day of work>school>work, and hung out, planned on making slutty brownies (cookie/brownie combo which usually also includes Oreos but won’t here) (they’re called slutty because they’re so easy, and no, I did not make up that term) for my host sister’s continued birthday celebrations, and watched The Bling Ring. It was a fantastic movie. Really, really well done.

There was my week. I think a little less verbiage than the last few weeks. I hope. It felt like less. Talk to y’all next week!

You may also begin seeing advertising on my blog. Which is yucky, but unless someone wants to pay for me to upgrade to ad-free wordpress, it’s a necessary evil.

Leave a Reply

