Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Oh hey dere world. It’s finals week, also my final week in Denmark! Where has the time gone? I seriously am going to be so sad when I write my goodbye post, so I’m going to save it. Today, a happier topic.

It’s a recipe I like to call the K-C Family Peanut Butter Cookies (I would normally just write the names out, but I actually haven’t run it by them, so I thought maybe better not to.) It’s fine, because I also refer to them as

The Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever.

IMG_4586

See how the cookie almost has a halo? That’s no coincidence.

And in Denmark, cookies are really not a thing. My host family doesn’t even have a baking sheet. I kid you not. They eat cake and pastries and stuff but you don’t often see cookies besides small, dry ones. (tasty in their own ways). But they those aren’t the cookies I actually wrote home about, these are. These cookies are moist, and for my  friend Allie of the K-C family, chocolate free. And they’re perfect. Luckily it’s not a family secret and I have been privy to the recipe. Which now you also are. HOORAY for me and for you!

Best. Peanut Butter. Cookies. Ever.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup = 1 American stick = 113 grams butter, softened

1/2 cup = 100 grams white sugar

1/2 cup = 100 grams brown sugar

1/2 cup = 127 grams peanut butter (usually smooth, today I used crunchy)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 egg

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 1/4 cups =156 grams flour

chocolate chips optional (wholy unnecessary if you ask me, but if it floats your boat)

Cream butter, add white sugar, brown sugar, peanut butter. Mix thoroughly between additions. Mix for 5 minutes even if you have a hand mixer and your hand gets tired. The batter should lighten in color. If you think it is impossible (as I did) to overcome the darkness of the peanut butter AND the brown sugar, you are wrong. It is possible. Maybe get someone else to hold the mixer for a few minutes.

IMG_4578

Add the egg. Yup, mix it really well.

Add flour and baking soda, this time mixing with a spatula or spoon, not the electric mixer.

Spoon out (big) cookies onto cookie sheet, flatten/crosshatch with a fork.

Bake at 375 F (190.5 C) for 10 minutes. NOT MORE. Do not over bake. They should be slightly browned, it’s okay if they’re soft. Cool on baking sheet. Cookies will deflate and be chewy and tender. If you over bake so that they puff back up when you poke them they will be crunchy/dry when they cool.

Eat with a glass of milk and seal leftovers in an airtight container. If you know any Danes, try to insist that this is not cake, instead tell them that in English we give sweet baked goods several different names (cake, cookies, bread, pie). They think everything is cake.

IMG_4583

Leave a Reply

